How many “Housewives” shows do we need?


I watched a show last night called “Mob Wives.”  I have had it.  Back when we had the Desperate Housewives, I thought that was one too many housewives shows.  Now you can’t even count them on two soapy dishwater hands, it’s become a pandemic.

Is it just a fad that there are so many “reality” shows featuring housewives?  I hope so.  The only thing these shows do is put these women, and housewives in general, in a bad light.  You would think that real housewives would hate these shows.  But no, they gobble them up like Peggy Bundy, from Married with Children, did with Bon-Bons watching Oprah.  It’s ridiculous.

Let’s count the ways we have failed:

  1. Mob Wives
  2. NFL Wives
  3. NBA Wives
  4. Real Housewives of New York
  5. Real Housewives of Miami
  6. Real Housewives of New Jersey
  7. Real Housewives of Orange County
  8. Real Housewives of Washington DC
  9. Real Housewives of LA

God, I’m absolutely certain that I’m missing a few hundred.  Please help me out here.  You know what housewives show I would watch?  How about “The Real Housewives of Saudi Arabia?”  That would keep you on your toes, huh?

I joke, but this isn’t funny.  As someone trying to break into the entertainment business, it’s so sad the market is completely saturated with this “crap.”  So sad…

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Culture, Entertainment, Television. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Reality shows are cheap to produce and always speak to a certain segment. I got tired of all of TLC’s reality shows about anomalies, whether Jon and Kate, the midgets, the tatoo people, or whatever. Yeah, too many Jerry Springer style shows, too much Jersey Shore, too much sleeze.

  2. On this we definitely agree but the women absolutely love it.
    John Wilder

  3. LOL….
    I am not questioning your list!
    but I think it is very funny…!!!!!!
    the women watching
    some stupid shows and not only supporting the rubbish,
    but talk about it at every occasion given,,,
    ….and we are wondering why our society is in the gutters
    and our children graduating from HS can hardly read on a 4th grade level….
    …maybe the flower people of the 60′ and 70’s finally came to a full bloom….?…..

  4. I know. And I said that it’s sad because it makes “real” housewives look bad. I come from a family whose mother stayed home and took care of us. What has happened in this society where women are feeling ashamed for being a housewife? For instace: I was watching Oprah about 10 years ago and this woman in the audience stood up and introduced herself. She fumbled with revealing that she was nothing more than a housewife. As if she had accomplished nothing. Motherhood is the single most commendable job of any job known to man. It is the very basis of our humanity. When did this happen? This woman, and many like her, are feeling like failures because they don’t have their degree in something. It’s sad and it needs to be fixed. We need to change our ideals of what makes a successful person. If we gauge our success by how much money our efforts generate, then we are doomed for failure. But if we base that same success off of the the amount of smiles we can create, then we have truly reached the peak of what makes us a successful human being. But glad it made you smile… lol

  5. I actually found this entry because I noticed how many of these vapid shows there are. After being disappointed by the lack of content, in this rant, I thought about things more…

    Television is kind of like a pharmaceutical company that propagates a disease and hawks the cure. What I mean is these shows appeal to empty-headed and boring women…the kind whose idea of philosophy is the newest charlatan peddling some half-assed screed. Prime time television isn’t an evil tool to control the masses, but has definitely made the lowest common denominator’s ranks grow considerably.

    In a sense, it is a relief to be able to determine the value of someone’s life [with certainty], after finding out what television programs they watch. Time to peel the donor sticker off of my license because I’d rather give new life to worms, than risk giving a Big Bang Theory, How I met Your Mother, The Real Housewives of XXXX, et al. viewer a new lease on life.

  6. What’s funny is that I just noticed the bit about motherhood in the comments…not that I am a self-hating male feminist, but the notion that having children is some great accomplishment is pretty ridiculous. A woman can accomplish a lot more than being a homemaker. I have this crazy friend, who took-on the role of stay at home parent, after their kids were ready for pre-school/elementary school. His wife finished her post-secondary degree and is working, while he looks after the kids and they’re both going to work once the oldest moves on to middle school…

  7. I feel the opposite. Motherhood is a highly underrated job. And its ideas that, “Women should aspire for greater things,” that’s killing this country’s feminine identity. But I do agree that men can be the stay at home parent as well. Which ever works best for the couple is what they should do. But to have a default saying that women can only succeed by going to college and having a career is illogical.

Leave a Reply

