Evolution for Dummies


As a freethinker, I often times find myself frustrated when trying to help those who appose the concept of evolution, understand it.  It’s a very simple idea really.  The single biggest argument I get is this:

You don’t believe we came from monkeys do you?  *sic*  So answer me this.  If humans evolved from monkeys, then why are there still mokeys living today?  Shouldn’t they have evolved as well.

They then give those around them a proud high-five for having debunked one of the greatest evolutionary myths.  I often times turn back around and finish my lovely coffee.  I simply don’t have the energy to come back from that one.  And here is another one that chaps my ass:

I can’t buy into the idea that all of the beauty around us just randomly happened.  Just randomly appeared.  The earth bought a lottery ticket and hit the jackpot… millions and millions of times.

It’s that core lack of knowledge that opponents of evolution have that exhausts me.  I usually allow them to have their say due to not having the energy to start at the beginning of their education and recite things they should already grasp, if not at just a basic level.

The guys over at Qualia Soup’s YouTube Channel have created an animation to help our confused/mislead friends.  It’s put together beautifully in only ten minutes.  I’ve spent more time than that attempting to get a word in over a debate with Christians as they quote endless passages from the bible.  It’s brilliant.

Anti-evolutionists:  If you don’t “get it” after watching this video, you probably never will.  But that’s okay, more bread for me at the atheist dinner on Sunday.

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on May 14, 2011, in Atheism, Philosophy, Science, Theism, World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am writing a series of articles to address your thoughts here, Lyn. I’ll post them under Atheism. Susan

Leave a Reply

