Why do we worship God?


Christians, I have a question for you:

Since I’m just a simple-minded atheist, would you mind explaining something for me?  Why would an all-knowing being such as god want us to worship it.  Seems pretty radical, right?  If I was that powerful; created the universe, galaxies, stars, etc, would I give two shits about little ol’ us?  I think not.  That’d be like me expecting ants to bow down to me and praise my being.  Pretty arrogant notion that a god would create a people so that they could worship at his proverbial feet don’t you think?

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Atheism, Lifestyle, Philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 103 Comments.

  1. Franuche
    Kudos for a very well stated and cogent analysis.

  2. Franuche,
    Thank you. I absolutely understand, now, your answer – for the first time, actually. The article lost me. I immediately placed it in a box of irrelevance for my question.

    A lot of times, throughout debates, people are so consumed with winning the debate over finding the truth; debates can quickly become arguments if we aren’t careful.

    All,
    I concede my question. Unless another “skeptic” can rebut Franuche’s argument, I have nothing to add.

  3. God doesn’t need our worship. It is showing love, respect, to the one who created us.

Leave a Reply

