Verizon exchanges Unlimited Data with Tiered Plans


Well boys and girls, that was short lived.  If you remember, the iPhone giant, AT&T, was the only provider you could get the “jesus-phone.”  Last year, however, Apple’s exclusivity contract expired allowing them to put their iPhone on a competing network.  And who better to put that phone than on the one carrier capable of moving millions of units per year?  Yup, Verizon.

Let me get this out of the way first, I hate Verizon.  They have a “money first” mentality.  They are the very poster child of everything there is to hate about capitalism.  They have the American mind dialed down to a science and they exploit that at every turn.  It’s sick and here’s just one more turd to add to the proverbial shit pile.

When Verizon introduced the iPhone last year, many asked the question of, “AT&T has the iPhone, what makes yours so different?”

Verizon responded with, “We have unlimited data plans.  All you can eat data.”  They raised their arms in the air and iPhone fans rejoiced.  Finally, unlimited data on my jesus-phone.

But wait, not so fast.  Just this week, Verizon has announced that they will switch to tiered pricing for the data plans afterall.  So, now that they’ve got everyone locked into two year contracts and have made themselves quite popular with the natives can they slide back into their old habits of raping the willing.

I just visited the Verizon website to check it out for my own eyes, and sure enough, what used to cost thirty dollars for unlimited data has been throttled back a mere 2gb/month.  Yes, you heard it correctly; all of those who listen to Pandora radio at work or any other streaming service might want to find an alternate source for you music.  2gb won’t get you very far for these activities.  Verizon will have you believe that “most” consumers won’t be affected by this cap.  So which side of the fence are you on?  Will you notice?  I will.  Let’s here it.  Are we pissed off yet?  Are we ready to switch carriers in protest.  I say hell yeah.

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Business, Tech and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I too hate verizon for many good reasons. I have not been a customer for years but this new switch in data plans is criminal if you ask me. They should releive you of the contract if they are going to change to limited data plans. I see a class action suit brewing here.

    John

  2. Well, in fairness to Verizon, I do believe that they will “grandfather in” anyone under the old terms. It’s still a crime, though. Look at all the publicity they received back when they started the unlimited data plans. And then less than a year later slide back to their old ways, hoping people have forgotten. But, as long as people put up with it, they will continue.

  3. Well anytime anyone asks me I ALWAYS bash Verizon. I have my own horror stories to tell on them.
    John

Leave a Reply

