Ratings! You get one star out of five


This is a topic that has had me peaved for some time now.  I frequent online stores like Amazon all the time; sometimes you simply cannot find what you’re looking for in the brick and mortar stores.  And I’m a cheap bastard.

Here’s my rant.  I utilize the ratings section quite a bit.  I can’t physically hold the product in my hand, so I rely on the good will of those who have purchased the item I am seeking to buy myself, to give me good solid feedback.  And alternately, the sellers rely on this same information in the same general way.  The better the product they offer, the higher the rating should be.  Right?  Well, not so fast.

No matter where you go on the web, or in the real world for that matter, you will come across those who really don’t deserve the right to breath the same air as you, let alone write reviews about a product which might make or break the company selling that product.  Let me tell you a little story.

I have recently taken a liking to photography on a more than amateur level.  And I’ve been playing around with Aperture to manage my photos.  And with any professional software, there’s usually a learning curve involved.  So I decided to buy a “how to” book to get me up and running quickly.

I visited Amazon.com and found the book I wanted to buy.  I read a few articles and noticed that someone had given this book a 1 out of 5 stars.  I was curious.

I clicked the article and read what the had to say.  I can’t make this up.  He said, “I’m sick and tired of Amazon charging the same price, or sometimes more, for the Kindle version of their books.”  He pretty much pissed all over this book because he didn’t like Amazon’s policies.

This is wrong on many levels; I simply wish people would take a moment, vent, think about it, then come back.  And for god’s sake, stay on topic.  It’s not fare to the author of the book that Amazon has strange digital rights policies.  That rating could potentially hurt that product.  And ultimately, a good product could fall off the radar due to misplaced rantings by it’s customers.  Sad, so sad.

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on July 18, 2011, in Books, Business, Social Media, Tech and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. great rant. I fully agree. Also, I have taken ratings off my blog. I find that liberals give my articles one star and conservatives give it 5 stars! ha, ha! This would make all my articles mediocre. Well, I’m not having all that. So instead, I only have the like button. It’s not easy to get someone to like your article. Therefore, the more ‘likes’ it gets is a better indication.

Leave a Reply

