Hulu: Good idea, but not yet ready


Well, I did it.  I canceled my TV.  My bill is $160 per month.  My wife and I are home for only a few hours in the evening.  We do chores, eat dinner, relax a minute, and then watch a show or two.  And that’s a typical night – at home.  For other days, we might not even turn the TV on.  And our DVR was our best friend for those days.  But, as a hat tip to the early 80’s with MTV, “Video killed the Radio Star.”  Well, has Hulu killed the DVR star?

So I cancelled my cable.  I decided to go ahead and get Hulu, a streaming service for television.  They boast next day viewing for MOST of my shows.  And upon doing a search, you realize that they do, indeed, have most of your shows available.

I signed up for an account and went to my PS3 to stream the shows to my big TV.  No luck, only Hulu Plus accounts allow streaming.  So we looked at the price of $7.99/month and made the decision that it was worth it.

Went back to the PS3, logged in to our account and presto – all of the shows were right there.  We were overjoyed.  We’d just saved over a hundred dollars a month and didn’t sacrifice a thing.  I gave myself a little pat on the back as my wife stuck some popcorn in the microwave.

And here’s my rant.  MOST of the really popular shows, and all of the most recent shows, are only available online.  I can’t stream them to watch them on my TV – which is where I would normally watch a TV show.  There’s got to be a mistake, right?  I mean, that’s the entire reason I purchased a Plus account.

Apparently, they can control their website better than third-party devices.  They, as a result, get better metrics to share with their investors/ad agencies/etc.  Streaming is just a convenience, and ultimately a marketing strategy, to get you to sign up for the “premium” service.

Can I watch “America’s Got Talent” a day after it airs live, on Hulu, yes.  But I have to make the family huddle around my labtop screen to do so.

This is a huge fail on their parts.  I have payed my first month of service.  If I had realized that their really aren’t very many pluses to the Plus account, I would have simply kept my regular, free, Hulu account.  Not worth it boys and girls.  Simply not a big enough collection to justify paying the monthly fee to watch all the shows you normally wouldn’t watch anyways.

I’ll report back as I find out more as time goes on.  But for now, it’s regular old Hulu for me.  So what are your experiences with Hulu and Hulu Plus?

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Lifestyle, Movies, Social Media, Tech, Television and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

