Diablo 3: Took Long Enough!


Diablo 3 is almost out!  Are you not excited?  Do you even know what Diablo is?  Aside from the mythological creature that was cast from heaven, that is?

Diablo came on the scene December 31, 1996.  It was for the computer only.  It had a resolution of 640×480 and we loved every pixel.  Diablo is what’s considered a perspective scroller.  You, or the camera, is positioned at an isometric angle to the playing field.  This gave the illusion of a third dimension.  Long before 3d graphics were a staple tool.

While Diablo was successful, it was not half as successful as Blizzard’s followup with Diablo 2.  It boasted superior graphics, story, a more streamlined user interface and added a few extra classes.  And with it’s multiplayer aspect, infinite game-play possibilities.  I still hear friends talking about playing the game.  So what took so long for their third entry?

My opinion, take it for what it’s worth, is money.  Blizzard, contrary to popular belief, is actually a pretty small company – by comparison.  And maybe you’ve heard of their ultra-successful World of Warcraft?  It’s MMORPG (Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game).  Maybe they’re milking that game for all it’s worth.  Or maybe they didn’t quite have a good product to release and felt it better to polish the game.  After all, ten years of speculation kind of raises the proverbial bar, does it not?

Enter Diablo 3, eventually…

Diablo 3 isn’t even out yet.  But there’s been a few years worth of game development screenshots, notes, movies even of it’s progress.  Just enough to get old fans salivating and reliving those long runs with friends over Battle.net servers.  And, garnering new, younger fans.  Maybe those little brothers and sisters who sat one the sidelines as you thumped away some baddies while wearing Sigon’s Complete Steel.  Good times, good times indeed.

Open Beta is this weekend.  Get your Diablo 3 fix now before the release next month!

So I’m playing the Open Beta.  I signed up for a Battle.net user account.  My old one is long forgotten – it has been ten years after all.  The download went extremely smooth.  I averaged 2mb/s for a total of over 3gb.  10 minutes or so later, the game was fully installed and ready to play.

I might add that they conveniently added a “Ready to Play” button when the download/install progressed to a certain level.  How nice of them to consider those on a slow connection.  That’s customer service my friends.

I started the game.  The first thing I noticed was how quickly I got to the main menu page.  I typed in my login and password and clicked the “Play” button.  I immediately got the error screen that they are experiencing congestion.  I’m fine with that.  I finally got in after about twenty minutes of logging in over a hundred times one right after the other.  I setup my character, a Demon Hunter by the way.  And clicked “Play.”  The game loaded instantly.  No waiting.

I am completely amazed at the subtle differences I noticed right off the bat.  Sure the graphics were way better; but there was a certain nostalgia that Blizzard stayed true to.  I immediately got chills at this notion.  It was a romance not experienced in over ten years.  Even the soundtrack was eerily the same.  I was blown away.  And coupled with the instant load times from scene to scene, area to area.  I couldn’t ask for a smoother beta.

Then the server begins to overload.  I get booted off and am taken to the home screen.  Logging in just takes me back to the “overloaded” screen where I started.

So my first impressions?  All issues with server load aside, it is in beta after all (I gotta give them a little slack), I loved every minute of it.  It was completely immersive.  I felt a part of the story.  The controls were extremely simple.  Given the right mouse, you could lean back in your chair and play with one hand.  Bravo, Blizzard Entertainment, bravo.  An excellent rebirthing of this amazing franchise.  I can’t wait for May 15th.

Wanna play with me on Battle.net?

My user ID is Zohso.

I might have some nice trinkets for you.  Or, if you’ve always wanted to slap me around for comments I’ve made on this site; this is the exact venue to take out those frustrations.

Share your experiences here.  Let others know how your beta testing is going.  Then how you like the game come May.

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Business, Entertainment, Gaming, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Look forward to great game!

  2. Yeah, I know. I had to go back and play Diablo 2 just to get back into the world.

  1. Pingback: A geek with a hat » My impressions of Diablo 3

Leave a Reply

