Facebook adds Organ Donor statuses


Facebook has announced that it has added the ability for it’s users to share that they are an organ donor.  I could scoff at the idea and ask the question of why; or I could simply be happy about this taboo topic becoming, well, not so taboo.

I, for one, am an organ donor.  I am a full body donor.  The way I see it, I’m dead and no longer have a use for it.  If my body can continue to serve by helping others in need – well, that thought actually makes me happy.  But there are those who feel their bodies to be a “temple” of sorts.  A “vessel” if you will that needs to be “worshipped,” even after death.  That’s the rant.  Those selfish individuals.

I was watching an organ donation commercial the other day.  There were people holding up pictures of donors and saying thank you to them for helping to save their lives.  It was rather touching, actually.  And then something really disturbing happened.  And I don’t know what is more disturbing – the fact that there are people out there like this or that we need to cater to them by explaining it.  There was a couple, easily identifiable as Christians by their garb; and they said, “We were overjoyed to find out that it is not against our religion to be a donor.”
What!  How selfish do you have to be to not want to share a part of yourself to help someone else?  I hear people say things like, “I’m going to get burried.  Just the thought of my body parts in someone else’s is ‘icky’.”  Um, you do know that you’re dead, right?

Here are some positives to donating:

  • Doctors can use your parts to give to someone in need, potentially saving theirs life.
  • The parts not immediately usable by other people can be used by science for research in future causes.
  • You’re not taking up precious space by being burried in the ground.

Now, let’s look at the negatives of being burried:

  • You selfishly deny anyone who might benefit from your dead body and precious organs that aren’t dead.
  • According to law, no one may perform any sort of research on your corpse.  So, no learning from your body.
  • You’ve purchased a plot of land that takes up space forever and ever and ever and ever.

I applaud Facebook.  I don’t have many good things to say about Facebook; but this is something that I’m proud of.

I believe that when young people start seeing their friends/family/coworkers as donors that they might not feel so awkward about going against their parent’s ideals.  It opens up the line of discussion that we should of been having years ago.

So, show your support for human life and DONATE.  Here’s a link to help you get started.

Organ Donation: Friends Saving Lives

About Lyn May

Designer, engineer, producer; I haven't really decided yet. Maybe I'll keep it that way - it's much easier to be undecided any way. I love graphic design, writing, photography, video production, animation, playing guitar, singing, engineering and pretty much any other medium that allows me to express my self artistically/logically.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Culture, Lifestyle, Philosophy, Politics, Science, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. There is a great book called Stiff by Mary Roach I think you would enjoy. http://www.maryroach.net/stiff.html It is about what happens to bodies once they are donated. Very interesting blog. I had no idea Facbook was going to be doing that.

    On a different note- Someone I work with has a place reserved to be cryogenically frozen. I’m curious as to what your thoughts are on this procedure. (I agree with organ donation, but am on the other end of the spectrum for this one. I wouldn’t want to wake up 100 years in the future!)

  2. Hey, glad to have you. I will check it out tonight and let you know if I plan to read it. This topic has always interested me.

    As far as cryonics go? I feel like it’s a pipe dream. The thought of reanimating past one’s “life cycle” just gives me the heebie jeebies. lol Pet Cemetery anyone?

    Cryonics has proven successful in preserving, without destroying the tissues at the cellular level, human cadavers. But what’s happening at the molecular level? That’s something they can’t answer yet because the technology is not there.

    So let’s get philosophical for a moment. IF you can preserve the cells, and eventually reanimate the body via brain stem activity, would you be able to just simply pick up where you left off when you died and live a “normal” life? That’s the question, isn’t it?

    My opinion, and I’m far from an expert on the topic, mind you, is that it would be similar to someone coming out of a long-term coma. Except this would probably be of the most severe kind. For instance, the patient very rarely recovers memories of their past self.

    If that’s true – what’s the point? If you are simply going to awaken fifty years from now and not remember anything from your past life, what’s the point? I don’t get the fixation with immortality. The idea is cool, but I just don’t buy it.

    I do, however, feel that we’re on the verge of reversing sickness. But that’s pre-death. Post-death, however, well that’s the holy-grail of science now isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

